For hundreds of graduate students, the long wait is over. The Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs (FGPA) would like to congratulate the close to 600 graduate students who will walk across the stage at the spring Convocation (June 13-16) ceremony.

A list of all of the medallists can be found by clicking here.

If you are not able to attend a ceremony in person, you can watch the live stream by going to this website.

Other details, including the schedule, are available on the Convocation website.

You can read about three graduate students who will receive their degrees at Convocation:  Burhan Terai  Chengchao Liang  Graham Cree

Here is the list of honorary degree recipients:

Tuesday, June 13
9:30 a.m. ceremony: 
André Picard will be recognized for his extraordinary contribution to public health and public health policy as a journalist, columnist and author of three significant books

2 p.m. ceremony:  Robert Wyatt will be recognized for his thoughtful leadership in philanthropic innovation and careful custodianship of volunteer agencies.

Wednesday, June 14
9:30 a.m. ceremony: 
Eleanor Wachtel will receive an honorary degree to recognize her illustrious career as author, interviewer, radio personality and arts commentator, placing Canadians on the world stage and bringing the world to Canada.

2 p.m. ceremony:  Tom Jackson will be honoured for his award-winning work as actor, musician, philanthropist and university chancellor and Craig Oliver will be recognized for his stellar work as a Gemini-winning journalist, political commentator, news director, producer and autobiographer.

Thursday, June 15
9:30 a.m. ceremony:  Adrian Burns
will receive an honorary degree for her brilliant career in broadcasting, the arts, business and volunteer service ranging from chair of the National Arts Centre Board to honorary captain of the Royal Canadian Navy and Lloyd Stanford will be recognized for his career as a distinguished public servant in both Jamaica and Canada, a Carleton University professor and member of the Board of Governors, and community leader.

2 p.m. ceremony:  Rosemary Chapdelaine will be honoured for her brilliant career as an award-winning mechanical engineer and talented international administrative leader and Ross Koningstein will be recognized for his extraordinary career as engineer, entrepreneur, thoughtful leader and custodian of the planet.

Friday, June 16
9:30 a.m. ceremony:  Allan Gregg will be recognized for his career as a thoughtful television interviewer and insightful commentary and Michel Gaulin will be recognized for his extraordinary career as a distinguished professor, graduate advisor and examiner.

2 p.m. ceremony:  Louise Penny will be recognized for her career as an award-winning broadcaster and detective fiction author and Daniel Poliquin will be recognized for his brilliant work as novelist, short story writer, translator, interpreter and thought leader through political essays and non-fiction works.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *