Congratulations to our 2024 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition winners!

On March 28, 2024, Carleton University held its annual Three Minute Thesis Competition. A first round was held in the morning and then 10 finalists competed for the top prizes in the afternoon. Contest prizes up for grabs by grad students consisted of one first-place prize of $1,000, one second-place prize of $500, one third-place prize of $250 and one “people’s choice” award of $150.

Carleton University’s Top 10 Finalists for the 2024 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition along with our judges and FGPA Associate Dean Onita Basu.

The 2024 winners are:

First Place: Ana Hernandez Martinez de la Riva, PhD student in Biology
Ana’s presentation is titled, Where is Jack? How to Find Rare Plants. Watch the video here.

Second Place: Bryce Norman, PhD student in Physics
Bryce’s presentation is titled, Establishing Evidence for the Higgs Boson Decaying to Two Muons at the ATLAS Detector. Watch the video here.

Third Place: Diksha Kale, PhD student in Legal Studies
Diksha’s presentation is titled, Monster of Law – Queer of Colour Futurity. Watch the video here.

People’s Choice Winner: Nadia Abzan, PhD student in Biomedical Engineering/Biology
Nadia’s presentation is titled, Breath of Life. Watch the video here.

Founded by the University of Queensland in Australia, 3MT celebrates graduate student research and takes place at universities around the world. Participants have to summarize their research in no more than 180 seconds. The judges for this year’s competition were:

  • Clarissa Brocklehurst, Consultant, Water Supply and Sanitation, Former Chief of Water, Sanitation and Hygiene, UNICEF
  • Al Hamdani, Executive Vice-President and Chief Business Officer, Canada Development Investment Corporation
  • Patrick Lyons, Director, Teaching and Learning Services, Carleton University

All the finalists’ presentations are available on our Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs’ YouTube channel. In addition to the above-mentioned prize winners, the finalists included:

Photos by Lindsay Ralph

Wednesday, April 10, 2024 in , , ,
Share: Twitter, Facebook