Welcome to the Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs (FGPA). You have joined more than 4,300 other students who have chosen to pursue their graduate degrees at Carleton University.

We want to help you have a successful transition from the time you first approached us until the day you graduate. There are several people who are here to help. View our organizational chart or scroll to the bottom of the page to find up-to-date contact information.

We work hard to foster a supportive environment that responds to your needs as soon as possible. To that end, we have five Graduate Service Officers who oversee your process and progress.

FGPA oversees numerous awards and funding opportunies.

We offer a diversity of professional development opportunities including career exploration events, alumni interviews, skill development workshops, one-on-one writing support, and career planning consultations, as well as our Grad Café that keeps you networked with other grad students.

We make a point of promoting research conducted by our graduate students by writing stories and organizing training and coaching sessions to enhance your chances of winning research competitions such as the Three Minute Thesis competition. Check out our Awards of Distinction website which features grad students who have won some of these prestigious awards.

And if you’re thinking of adding another graduate degree, take a look at our list of more than 100 programs, pathways and specializations.

If you have any questions, please contact graduate_studies@carleton.ca.

Academic Administration

Patrice Smith
Professor
Dean
Phone: 613-520-2518
patrice.smith@carleton.ca
Renée De Laire
Executive Assistant to the Dean
Phone: 613-520-2518
renee.delaire@carleton.ca
Ali Arya
Associate Dean, Planning and Awards
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 8949
ali.arya@carleton.ca 
Paul Keen
Professor
Associate Dean, Student & Postdoctoral Affairs
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 2333
paul.keen@carleton.ca 
James Opp
Professor
Associate Dean, Programs
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 1809
james.opp@carleton.ca

Administrative Personnel

Joanne Bree
Director, Graduate Studies and Registrar
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 1464
joanne.bree@carleton.ca
Lin Moody
Recruitment & Communications Officer
Phone: 613-520-2600, ext. 1146
lin.moody@carleton.ca
Kevin McEwan
Enrolment Management Officer
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 1177
kevin.mcewan@carleton.ca
Sandra Bauer
Program Officer
Phone: 613-520-2600, ext. 8050
sandra.bauer@carleton.ca
Bill Sutherland
Financial Analyst
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 1829
bill.sutherland@carleton.ca
Leslie Main
Co-ordinator, External/Internal Graduate Awards
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 8349
leslie.main@carleton.ca
David Lafferty
Coordinator of Graduate Professional Development
Phone: 613-520-2600, ext. 3229
david.lafferty@carleton.ca